Delhi: PM Modi to lay foundation stone of new ‘state-of-the-art’ Parliament building today

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi will lay the foundation stone of the new Parliament building at Sansad Marg, New Delhi, today, 10th December. The Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) stated in a press communication that the new building is an intrinsic part of the vision of ‘Aatmanirbhar Bharat’ and will be a landmark opportunity to build the peoples’ Parliament for the first time after independence, one which will match the needs and aspirations of ‘New India’ on the 75th anniversary of independence in 2022.

According to PMO’s statement, the new Parliament building will be modern, state-of-the-art, and energy-efficient, with highly non-obtrusive security facilities to be built as a triangular-shaped building, adjacent to the present Parliament. The Lok Sabha will be three times of the existing size and the Rajya Sabha will be substantially bigger. The interiors of the new building will showcase a blend of Indian culture and diversity of regional arts, crafts, textiles, and architecture. The design plans also include space for a Central Constitutional Gallery, which will be accessible to the public.

The construction of the new Parliament building will utilise resource efficient green technology, promote environment friendly practices, generate employment opportunities, and contribute towards economic revitalisation, stated the PMO, adding that it will have high quality acoustics and audio-visual facilities, improved and comfortable seating arrangements, and effective and inclusive emergency evacuation provisions. The building is said to comply with the highest structural safety standards, including adherence to Seismic Zone 5 requirements and is designed for ease of maintenance and operations.

The PMO stated that the function will be attended by Om Birla, Speaker, Lok Sabha; Pralhad Venkatesh Joshi, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs; Hardeep S. Puri, Minister of State (MoS), Housing & Urban Affairs; and Harivansh Narayan Singh, Deputy Chairman, Rajya Sabha. Around 200 dignitaries, including Union Cabinet Ministers, Ministers of State, Members of Parliament, Secretaries, Ambassadors/High Commissioners will attend the function, which will also be webcast live.

Follow Indus Dictum on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn for the latest updates.

Subscribe to Indus Dictum to receive a briefing about the latest news & feature articles. No spam, we promise.

Success! You're on the list.

The ID Staff

Daily stories by the Indus Dictum Staff

Have some feedback for the author? Click here to comment.