Prez Kovind presents Nari Shakti Puraskar to 15 women

New Delhi: The President of India, Ram Nath Kovind, presented Nari Shakti Puraskar for the year 2019 at a special ceremony held in Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi on the occasion of International Women’s Day, yesterday. The awards were conferred on 15 eminent women in recognition of their efforts in rendering distinguished services towards emancipation of women, especially vulnerable and marginalized women.

Nari Shakti Puraskar is an initiative of the Ministry of Women and Child Development (WCD) to acknowledge the exceptional contribution made by individuals and institutions, to celebrate women as game changers and catalyst of positive change in the society. These outstanding women have contributed towards safeguarding women’s rights along with pushing the 2030 agenda for Sustainable Development Goals. These awards are an effort to recognize women as equal partners in the advancement of society.

These achievers have not allowed age, geographical barriers or access to resources to come in the way of fulfilling their dreams. Their indomitable spirit will inspire the society at large and the young Indian minds in particular to break gender stereotypes, and stand up against gender inequality and discrimination.

The winners of the Nari Shakti Puraskar for the year 2019 are from fields as diverse as agriculture, sports, handicrafts, afforestation and wildlife conservation, Armed Forces and education.

Nari Shakti Puraskar awardees were Padala Bhudevi, Bina Devi, Arifa Jan, Nilza Wangmo, Chami Murmu, Rashmi Urdhwareshe, Sardarni Mann Kaur, Kalavati Devi, Tashi and Nungshi Malik, Kaushiki Chakroborty, Bhageerathi Amma, Karthyayini Amma, Avani Chaturvedi, Bhawna Kanth, and Mohana Singh.

Follow Indus Dictum on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn for the latest updates.

Subscribe to Indus Dictum to receive a briefing about the latest news & feature articles. No spam, we promise.

Success! You're on the list.

The ID Staff

Daily stories by the Indus Dictum Staff

Have some feedback for the author? Click here to comment.