Defence Minister Rajnath to confer NITI Aayog women entrepreneurship awards

New Delhi: NITI Aayog’s Women Entrepreneurship Platform is organising the 4th edition of the Women Transforming India (WTI) awards on International Women’s Day, 8 March. The WTI awards will recognize 30 finalists and 15 winners will be felicitated. On this occasion, the Women Entrepreneurship Platform also completes two years since its inception.

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh will be the Chief Guest and will give away the Women Transforming India Awards 2019. Amitabh Kant, CEO, NITI Aayog, Yasmin Al Haque, UN Resident Coordinator in India and Anna Roy, Senior Adviser, NITI Aayog, will also be present at the event.

The Women Transforming India awards, instituted four years ago, are NITI Aayog’s endeavour to recognise and celebrate stories of exceptional women changemakers from across India.

Since 2018, the Women Transforming India awards have been hosted under the aegis of the Women Entrepreneurship Platform on the theme of ‘Women and Entrepreneurship’. The 15 winners were chosen from a pool of more than 2,300 applicants. The Women Entrepreneurship Platform undertook an elaborate five-month-long process to identify inspiring stories of women entrepreneurs who are breaking the glass ceiling. This process included a review of applications, jury and super jury rounds with assistance from mentors and partners of Women Entrepreneurship Platform.

The Women Entrepreneurship Platform seeks to transform the entrepreneurial ecosystem for women by bringing together stakeholders to offer information and services that will resolve the existing information asymmetry. It was formulated on three pillars: Iccha Shakti, Gyan Shakti and Karma Shakti. It is an aggregator platform for established as well as aspiring entrepreneurs and provides incubator support, mentorship, funding avenues, compliance and taxation support and peer learning. Currently, Women Entrepreneurship Platform has 14,000 registered users and has initiated programs with 30 partners.

The event will include a segment with spotlight speakers during which Debjani Ghosh, President, NASSCOM; Chetna Gala Sinha, Founder Mann Deshi Bank; and Ani Choying Drolma, a Nepalese nun, will take the stage to speak about their journeys basis the three pillars of Women Entrepreneurship Platform.

Follow Indus Dictum on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn for the latest updates.

Subscribe to Indus Dictum to receive a briefing about the latest news & feature articles. No spam, we promise.

Success! You're on the list.

The ID Staff

Daily stories by the Indus Dictum Staff

Have some feedback for the author? Click here to comment.