Shashi Tharoor, 22 others win Sahitya Akademi Awards 2019

New Delhi: Sahitya Akademi announced its annual Sahitya Akademi Awards in 23 languages yesterday. Seven books of poetry, four of novel, six of short stories, three of essays and one each of non-fiction, autobiography and biography have won the Sahitya Akademi Awards 2019.​

The Awards were recommended by distinguished Jury members representing 23 Indian languages and approved by the Executive Board of the Sahitya Akademi which met yesterday under the chairmanship of Dr. Chandrashekhar Kambar, President, Sahitya Akademi. 

Seven books of poetry were awarded, written by Dr. Phukan Ch. Basumatary (Bodo), Dr. Nand Kishore Acharya (Hindi), Nilba A. Khandekar (Konkani), Kumar Manish Arvind (Maithili), V. Madhusoodanan Nair (Malayalam), Anuradha Patil (Marathi) and Prof. Penna Madhusudan(Sanskrit).  

Four novels were awarded, written Dr. Joysree Goswami Mahanta (Assamese), L. Birmangol Singh (Beryl Thanga) (Manipuri), Cho. Dharman (Tamil) and Bandi Narayana Swamy (Telugu). 

Six books of short stories were awarded, compiled by Abdul Ahad Hajini (Kashmiri), Tarun Kanti Mishra (Odia), Kirpal Kazak (Punjabi), Ram Swaroop Kisan (Rajasthani), Kali Charan Hembram (Santali) and Ishwar Moorjani (Sindhi).

Shashi Tharoor (English), Dr. Vijaya (Kannada) and Prof. Shafey Kidwai (Urdu) have won for each of their works on creative non-fiction, autobiography and biography respectively.

Three books of essays were awarded, written by Dr. Chinmoy Guha(Bengali), Om Sharma Jandriari (Dogri) and Ratilal Borisagar (Gujarati).​​​​

The books were selected on the basis of recommendations made by a Jury of three members in the concerned languages in accordance with the procedure laid down for the purpose. According to the procedure, the Executive Board declared the Awards on the basis of unanimous selections made by the Jurors or selection made on the basis of majority vote. The Awards relate to books first published during the five years immediately preceding the year of Award (i.e. between 1 January 2013 and 31 December 2017).

The Award in the form of a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque, a shawl, and an amount of Rs. 1,00,000 will be presented to the authors of these books at a special function to be held on 25 February 2020 at New Delhi during the Festival of Letters organized by Sahitya Akademi.

Follow Indus Dictum on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn for the latest updates.

Subscribe to Indus Dictum to receive a briefing about the latest news & feature articles. No spam, we promise.

Success! You're on the list.

The ID Staff

Daily stories by the Indus Dictum Staff

Have some feedback for the author? Click here to comment.